C.V. Maciej Pelak

Dr.med. Maciej Pelak

Current
Position:
Radiation Oncology Specialist at MedAustron
   
Professional Career:
Since 2018: working for MedAustron

2017-2018
Junior Radiation Oncologist / Center for Proton Therapy, Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland

22.11.2017
Acquisition of the title of Specialist in Radiation Oncology

2016-2017
Training as Specialist in Radiation Oncology / University Clinical Center, Silesian Medical University, Katowice, Poland

2011-2016
Training as Specialist in Radiation Oncology / Maria Sklodowska-Curie Memorial Institute of Oncology and Cancer Center, Gliwice Branch, Poland
   
Clinical &
Research Focus
When I stepped into the field of radiation oncology, the discipline has already been refined both technically and clinically. It is amazing how much the discipline has advanced in the last 30 years. I am particularly interested in locally aggressive tumors: malignant gliomas, meningiomas, adenoid cystic carcinoma, skull base and pancreatic tumors. In these, reaching high levels of local control by radiation is crucial for the patient, but it still remains a challenge. Protons and carbon ions are highly conformal irradiation technologies, with certain additional radiobiological advantages of the latter, and are a powerful tool, which contributes towards reaching this goal.

My clinical interest also lies in pediatric tumors, where proton therapy contributes to the aspect of limiting the late radiation side effects. This is particularly important for tumors with a good prognosis and expected long-term survival.

My biggest scientific interest is the translational research aspect of the above mentioned tumors: using basic biological studies and novel molecular imaging to determine subgroups of patients who would benefit from refinement of their radiation treatment (in particular the so-called biological dose-painting concepts).

 

back to Medical Team Overview

Lebenslauf Maciej Pelak

Dr.med. Maciej Pelak

Aktuelle Position:
Facharzt für Radioonkologie bei MedAustron
   
Beruflicher Werdegang:
Seit 2018 im Dienstverhältnis mit MedAustron

2017-2018
Assistenzarzt für Radioonkologie / Zentrum für Protonentherapie, Paul Scherrer Institut, Villigen, Schweiz

22.11.2017
Facharzttitel in Radioonkologie-Strahlentherapie

2016-2017
Ausbildung zum Facharzt für Radioonkologie-Strahlentherapie / Klinisches Universitätszentrum, Schlesische Medizinische Universität, Katowice, Polen

2011-2016
Ausbildung zum Facharzt Radioonkologie-Strahlentherapie / Maria Sklodowska-Curie Onkologisches Zentrum und Krebsforschungsinstitut, Niederlassung Gliwice, Polen
   
Klinische & Forschungs-
schwerpunkte
Als ich in die Radioonkologie eintauchte, war diese bereits technisch und klinisch weit entwickelt. Es ist erstaunlich, wie viele Fortschritte es in den letzten 30 Jahren auf diesem Gebiet gegeben hat. Was mich an der Radioonkologie besonders interessiert sind lokal aggressive Tumore: bösartige Gliome, Meningiome, das adenoid-zystische Karzinom, Schädelbasis- und Pankreastumore. In diesen Fällen besteht die oft herausfordernde Schlüsselaufgabe darin, eine möglichst hohe Lokalkontrolle mittels Bestrahlung zu erreichen. Protonen und Kohlenstoffionen als hochkonformale Bestrahlungstechniken sind ein wertvolles Werkzeug, um diesem Ziel näher zu kommen, wobei auch die radiobiologischen Vorteile der Kohlenstoffionen essentiell sind.

Zu meinen klinischen Interessen zählen außerdem pädiatrische Tumore, bei denen die Protonentherapie hilft, spätere bestrahlungsinduzierte Nebenwirkungen zu vermindern. Das ist besonders wichtig für Tumore mit relativ guter Prognose und langer erwarteter Überlebensdauer.

Mein größtes wissenschaftliches Interesse gilt der translationalen Forschung für die oben genannten Tumoren. Dies beinhaltet die Nutzung der biologischen Grundlagenforschung, sowie der molekularen Bildgebung, um jene Patientengruppen zu bestimmen, die einen Vorteil aus einer Behandlungsanpassung haben könnten (insbesondere der sogenannten biologischen Dosis-Painting Konzepte).

 

zurück zum Ärzteteam