C.V. Petra Georg

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Petra Georg

Current
Position:
Radiation Oncology Specialist &
Head of Clinical Studies at MedAustron
   
Professional Career:
Since 2014: working for MedAustron

2014-2015
Clinical stays abroad at the particle centers:
Proton Therapy Center (PTC), Prague, Czech Republic
Centro Nazionale di Adroterapia Oncologica (CNOA), Pavia, Italy

2012-2014
Professor and senior physician / University Clinic for Radiation Therapy, Medical University of Vienna / Vienna General Hospital

2013
Habilitation in Radiation Oncology- Radiation Therapy

2004-2010
Training as specialist in Radiation Oncology- Radiation Therapy / University Clinic for Radiation Therapy, Medical University of Vienna / Vienna General Hospital
   
Clinical & Research Focus
Already during my medical studies, I have been fascinated by clinical research and technological development. The area of radiation oncology- radiation therapy offers a broad range of technological developments with the goal of positively influencing the quality of the oncological treatment for the patients. Due to innovative technologies, the chances of recovery as well as the tolerability of therapy can be improved.

My focus was on researching the side effects associated with radiation therapy and their dependence on the applied dose using innovative technologies. This research has led me from the University Clinic for Oncology in Leuven/Belgium to the University Clinic for Radiation Therapy in Vienna, and finally to MedAustron in Wiener Neustadt.

Particle therapy in its current availability is the latest implementation of the technological development of radiation oncology. By clinically applying particle therapy, I focus on the reporting of side effects in the affected region, their dependence on the applied dose, and their impact on the quality of life and the well-being of the patient. By improving the tolerability of the therapy, the tumor response rate can be improved, too. In order to achieve these goals, I have established the clinical study center at MedAustron.

My clinical focus lies on the treatment of tumors of the skull base, ENT tumors, sarcoma and pancreas carcinoma.

 

back to medical team overview

Lebenslauf Petra Georg

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Petra Georg

Aktuelle Position:
Fachärztin für Radioonkologie &
Leiterin der Abteilung für Radioonkologie &
Leiterin der Abteilung für Klinische Studien bei MedAustron
   
Beruflicher Werdegang:
Seit 2014 im Dienstverhältnis mit MedAustron.

2014-2015
Klinische Auslandsaufenthalte in den Ionentherapiezentren:
Proton Therapy Center (PTC), Prag, Tschechien
Centro Nazionale di Adroterapia Oncologica (CNAO), Pavia, Italien

2012-2014
Professorin und Oberärztin / Universitätsklinik für Strahlentherapie, Medizinische Universität Wien / Allgemeines Krankenhaus Wien

2013
Habilitation im Fach Radioonkologie-Strahlentherapie

2004-2010
Ausbildung zur Fachärztin für Radioonkologie-Strahlentherapie / Universitätsklinik für Strahlentherapie / Medizinische Universität Wien / Allgemeines Krankenhaus Wien
   
Klinische & Forschungs-
schwerpunkte
Schon während des Medizinstudiums habe ich mich für klinische Forschung und technologische Weiterentwicklung begeistert. Das Fachgebiet Radioonkologie-Strahlentherapie bietet ein großes Spektrum an technologischen Weiterentwicklungen, die letztendlich die Qualität der onkologischen Behandlung des Patienten positiv beeinflussen. Durch innovative Technologien kann nicht nur das Krankheitsüberleben verbessert werden, sondern auch die Therapieverträglichkeit.

Mein Fokus lag in der Erforschung der mit der Strahlentherapie assoziierten Nebenwirkungen und deren Abhängigkeit von der applizierten Dosis bei neuartigen Technologien. Diese Forschungsreise hat mich von der Univ. Klinik für Onkologie in Leuven/Belgien über die Univ. Klinik für Strahlentherapie in Wien nach MedAustron in Wiener Neustadt geführt.

Ionentherapie in der jetzigen Verfügbarkeit ist die neueste Implementation des technologischen Fortschritts in der Radioonkologie. In deren klinischen Anwendung lege ich den Fokus auf die Erfassung von den Nebenwirkungen in der behandelten Region, deren Abhängigkeit von der applizierten Dosis und deren Einfluss auf die Lebensqualität und das Patientenwohlbefinden. Durch eine verträglichere Therapie sollen auch die Ergebnisse des Tumoransprechens verbessert werden. Um diese Ziele erreichen zu können, habe ich ein klinisches Studienzentrum bei MedAustron aufgebaut.

Meine klinischen Schwerpunkte bildet die Behandlung der Tumore an der Schädelbasis, der HNO Tumore, der Sarkome und der Pankreaskarzinome.

 

zurück zum Ärzteteam